2020 News Archive

<< read an article from the 2019 News Archive

read an article in the 2021 News Archive >>



AGC

Village Cricketers Family Sixes Fun Day (Mon, 1 Aug 2020)

The Village Cricket Family Sixes Fun Day takes place on Saturday 15th August 2020 from 1pm at Grendelmatte Sportfeld in Riehen.

>> read more

PT20

Zug win first Pickwick T20 match of 2020 (Thu, 2 Jul 2020)

Zug Cricket Club beat Aargau Cricket Club by 19 runs in the first Pickwick Twenty20 league match of 2020.

>> read more

PT20

PIckwick T20 League to be played in full (Wed, 1 Jul 2020)

The 2020 cricket season has been given the green light by sports authorities across the country, Cricket Switzerland have announced that the Pickwick T20 will be played in full.

>> read more


Swiss junior summer Cricket camps (Sat, 19 Jun 2020)

The Swiss Sports & Cultural Association are organising four junior summer cricket camps to take place at the GES Genthod in Geneva this year.

>> read more

Dream11 European Cricket Series - CS T10 St Gallen results (Fri, 27 Jun 2020)

Nomads won the final match of the Dream11 European Cricket Series - Cricket Switzerland T10 at St Gallen by 19 runs.
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Cricket season to start 22nd June (Mon, 1 Jun 2020)
Cricket Switzerland has announced that the relaxation measurers introduced by the Federal Government allow the 2020 cricket season to begin.

>> read more


Announcing a Cricket Switzerland T10 extravaganza (Sun, 31 May 2020)
Cricket Switzerland have announced a T10 extravaganza as part of the Dream 11 T10 Series (in conjunction with the ECL) to run from Monday 22nd - Friday 26th June 2020.
>> read more

Der Landbote

Cricket has a wet problem (Wed, 20 May 2020)
You have to shower at home. You can only celebrate with your elbow. And you have to take a ball with you. Cricket has a wet problem: the spit of the bowlers.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Cricket activities in Switzerland (Sun, 24 May 2020)
Swiss Cricket Clubs start the gradual process of returning to normality following the Covid-19 corona virus lockdown

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

WCC start training (Wed, 20 May 2020)
Winterthur Cricket Club began cricket training after being granted permission from the Winterthur Sportamt.

                        >> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Cricket training starts (Mon, 18 May 2020)
On Saturday 16th May Zurich Crickets CC was allowed to begin training outdoors for the first time in 2020. However, it was a day of training very unlike what the club is used to.

>> read more

Lyceum Alpinum

Junior Zuoz cancelled (Sun, 10 May 2020)

The Junior Zuoz Cricket Festival, planned for 20-21 June 2020, is the latest cricket event to be cancelled amidst uncertainty caused by the Covid-19 corona virus pandemic.
>> read more

Cricket protective concept approved by BASPO (Fri, 08 May 2020)
Cricket Switzerland's protective concept has been approved by the Federal Office of Sport (BASPO) opening the way to start cricket training in Switzerland.

>> read more


Cricket Switzerland

Exec meets via Zoom (Sat, 25 Apr 2020)
On Sunday 19th April the Cricket Switzerland Executive met via eConferencing facilities. This is the first time the executive has used eConferencing technology to meet.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Cricket season prospects 2020 (Wed, 22 Apr 2020)
On Monday 20th April 2020, the Cricket Switzerland League Chairman issued a statement providing an update on the prospects for the Swiss cricket season.
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Could the cricket season be just weeks away? (Fri, 10 Apr 2020)
Could the start of the cricket season be just a month away? Nothing definite as yet, but the signs look promising.
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

iT20 tour to Prague cancelled (Thu, 9 Apr 2020)
Due to the uncertainties in the approach to the 2020 season, Switzerland's iT20 tour to Prague to play in a 6-nation competition has been cancelled.
>> read more

Lyceum Alpinum

No senior Zuoz club tournament in 2020 (Tue, 7 Apr 2020)

There will be no senior club tournament in Zuoz in 2020 announced, Alex Mackay, President of Cricket Switzerland.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Transfer window closed (Mon, 6 Apr 2020)
On Tuesday 31st March 2020 the transfer window in Cricket Switzerland closed for the 2020 season.
>> read more


NCC

Introducing the Novartis Cricket Club (Wed, 18 Mar 2020)
At the AGM, Novartis CC joined as an affiliate member of Cricket Switzerland. Here is a short introduction of club & team.
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

DBMT postponed (Fri, 16 Mar 2020)

Cricket Switzerland has postponed the David Barmes Memorial Trophy as a result of measures Switzerland has introduced to contain the COVID-19 Corona Virus.
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Statement from Cricket Switzerland (Fri, 13 Mar 2020)
Cricket Switzerland released a statement on the direct effect the Corona Virus will have on cricket over the next few weeks.
>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club

Basel indoors series cancelled (Fri, 13 Mar 2020)
The series of spring indoor tournaments due to fears surrounding the COVID-19 Corona Virus and the new measures introduced by the Swiss government.
>> read more

ECB ACO Stage One Course Report (Mon, 9 Mar 2020)

On Saturday 7th March 2020 (Geneva) & Sunday 8th March 2020 (Zurich), swissFOCUS successfully ran two ECB ACO Stage One Umpiring Courses.

>> read more

CCAS

CCAS Level One Coaching Course report (Fri, 6 Mar 2020)

On Sunday 1st March, Zurich Crickets hosted a Level One Coaching Course.

>> read more

Pakhtoon Zalmi Cricket Club

Introducing the Pakhtoon Zalmi Cricket Club (Tue, 03 Mar 2020)
At the AGM, Pakhtoon Zalmi CC joined as an affiliate member of Cricket Switzerland. We wanted to find out more about them and share that with you.
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

AGM report (Sun, 01 Mar 2020)
The 2020 Cricket Switzerland Annual General Meeting took place in Berne on Saturday 29th February amidst concerns surrounding the COVID-19 Corona Virus.
>> read more


cricHQ

cricHQ scoring course & resources (Tue, 25 Feb 2020)

Whether new to cricHQ or want to brush up ahead of the forthcoming season, the resources on the cricHQ website will enable you to use the cricHQ scoring App.

>> read more

Olten Cricket Club

Olten Cricket Festival (Mon, 24 Feb 2020)

On Saturday 2nd May, Olten Cricket Club will host their annual tennis ball cricket tournament, taking place in the hart of Olten.

                        >> read more

swissFOCUS awards 2019 (Sun, 23 Feb 2020)

At the AGM, Zurich Crickets were bestowed the 2019 Spirit of Cricket Award, Yeti Sihn & Onesimu Koilraj umpire of the year & Vaishakha Pasvathaich rookie of the year award.

>> read more

swissFOCUS AGM report (Sun, 23 Feb 2020)

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of the Swiss Federation of Cricket Umpires & Scorers (swissFOCUS) took place in Köniz on Saturday 22nd February 2020.

>> read more

Last call for ECB ACO Umpiring Course (Fri, 21 Feb 2020)

Last chance to register forone of the two ECB ACO Stage One Umpiring Courses to be run on Saturday 7th March (Geneva) & Sunday 8th March 2020 (Zurich).

>> read more

Cricket on Ice

Cricket on Ice 2020 tournament report (Tue, 18 Feb 2020)
Debutants Gipsies & Nomads XI win the 2020 Cricket on Ice Trophy, beating reigning champions Old Cholmeleians XI by 8 wickets in Saturday afternoon's conclusion.
>> read more

Twenty20 Cricket Company

Basel Junior International Cricket Camp (Tue, 4 Feb 2020)

Sign-up for the Basel Junior International Summer Cricket Camp, a whole week of cricket for boys & girls aged 8 - 15, from 20th - 24th July 2020.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club

Basel U15 Indoors (Mon, 3 Feb 2020)
Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club host clubs from around Switzerlan at the Annual U15 Basel Indoor that will take place on 28th & 29th March 2020 in Basel.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club

Basel U13 Indoors (Sun, 2 Feb 2020)
Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club play host to clubs from around Switzerland at the Annual U13 Basel Indoor that will take place on 21st & 22nd March 2020 in Basel.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club

Basel U11 Indoors (Sat, 1 Feb 2020)
Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club will host clubs from around Switzerland at the Annual U11 Basel Indoor that will take place on 14th & 15th March 2020 in Basel.

>> read more


Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club

Bob Barber to attend Basel U15 Indoor (Fri, 31 Jan 2020)
Bob Barber (former England international Test cricketer) will visit the Basel U15 Indoor tournament.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Senior cricket leagues 2020 (Tue, 28 Jan 2020)
With the proposect of a minimum of two new member cricket clubs in 2020, Cricket Switzerland is considering forming a third division, a central division.
>> read more

South Africa Cricket

Is it an «altitude» problem? (Mon, 27 Jan 2020)
Alexander Mackay discusses a possible association between the altitude of the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg & Ben Stokes' outburst in the fourth Test.
>> read more

Geneva Cricket Club

Geneva Tape-ball indoor tournament (Sat, 25 Jan 2020)
Geneva Cricket Club will host the inaugural 8-a-side Geneva Tape-ball Indoor Cricket Tournament at Bout-Du-Monde on Sunday 16th February.
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

World Rankings 2019 (Sun, 19 Jan 2020)

Switzerland ended 2019 ranked 52nd (up from 63rd) in the ODI rankings and 82nd (83rd) in the Twenty20 World rankings.
>> read more

Cricket Coaching Association of Switzerland (CCAS)

CCAS Coaching Level One (Fri, 10 Jan 2020)

On Sunday 1st March 2020, Zurich Crickets will host a CCAS Level One Coaching Course.

>> read more

European Cricket League

European Cricket League goes public (06 Jan 2020)

ECL founder, Daniel Weston, is providing an opportunity to private individuals to own a stake in European Cricket by buying shares in the European Cricket League.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club

2020 Basel Junior Indoor series (Fri, 20 Sep 2019)

Basel Dragons have announced the dates for their annual spring indoor series.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Annual General Meeting 2020 (Sat, 07 Dec 2019)
The Cricket Switzerland 2020 Annual General Meeting has been scheduled for Saturday 29th February 2020.
>> read more

Vienna Cricket Club

2020 VCC Winter Cup (Wed, 6 Nov 2019)

The 34th Vienna Cricket Club Winter Cup will be held on 22nd & 23rd February 2020.

>> read more

Berne Cricket Club

Berne Curry Evening (Tue, 10 Dec 2019)
Berne Cricket Club invites you to enjoy a relaxing evening with friends and family over delicious food and drinks, accompanied by music, with raffle prizes to be won.
>> read more

Cricket on Ice

Cricket on Ice 2020 (Wed, 20 Nov 2019)
The 32nd Cricket on Ice Trophy will take place on Lake St. Moritz from Thursday 13th to Saturday 15th February 2020
>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Website & Social Media Statistics 2019 (Thu, 02 Jan 2020)

The Cricket Switzerland website team has shared the website & social media statistics for 2019 with us.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Happy New Year (Wed, 01 Jan 2020)

On behalf of everyone involved at Cricket Switzerland, we wish you all a very happy & successful 2020!

>> read more