swissFOCUS AGM report

Saturday 27th April 2019

The 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Swiss Federation of Cricket Umpires & Scorers (swissFOCUS) took place at the Restaurant Imagine in the Zurich Main Station on Saturday 27th April 2019.

In a change at the helm, Alexander Mackay was elected Chairman, while incumbent Clive Denney assumed the Vice-Chairman role. The remaining incumbents were all re-elected in the other positions on the committee, Clive Denney continuing as Treasurer, Chris & Miriam Lodge as joint Secretary, Asvin Lakkaraju as Allocations Manager, and finally Alexander Mackay as Director of Umpiring & Miriam Lodge as Director of Scoring.


Membership of swissFOCUS remained at Fr 30.


Miriam Lodge agreed to revamp the current course offering for scorers.


In a major rethink on how to encourage officials to be more active and motivate them to further their qualifications, it was agreed to introduce a fee structure for scorers & umpires officiating 80 overs or more in any given season on bahalf of swissFOCUS, as follows:

swissFOCUS umpiring & scoring fee structure 2019
Qualification CSPL PT20
swissFOCUS introduction Fr. 40 Fr. 20
ICC Level One, ECB/ACO Stage 1 & 2 Fr. 50 Fr. 25
ICC Level Two, ECB/ACO Stage 3, 4 & 5 Fr. 50 Fr. 25

Important note: Fees only payable to those officiating for 80 or more overs in the season.

Other business covered by the AGM included naming Zurich Lions Cricket Club as the winners of the 2018 Spirit Of Cricket Award. Additionally, three awards would be introduced in 2019: Rookie Award (awarded to the best newcomer); Umpire Of The Year; Scorer Of The Year.


Finally, any umpire on the swissFOCUS umpiring panel requiring, umpiring kit, scorecards, ball counters, bowling markers or law books, should contact Clive Denney to arrange delivery.