2019 News Archive


Cricket Switzerland

Swiss U11 Surrey Tour Report (Tue, 18 May 2019)

Thirteen players were selected for the 2019 Swiss U11 Surrey Tour over the Ascension weekend (30 May - 2 June 2019).

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Dukes adopted across all age groups (Tue, 11 May 2019)

Cricket Switzerland have announced that as of 2019, the Dukes cricket ball has been adopted across all age groups, from Senior & U19s, through U15s, U13s, U11s & U9s.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Switzerland to participate in 4 nation T20 tournament (Thu, 13 May 2019)

Switzerland will participate in a 4 nation Twenty20 International tournament in Prague 21st-23rd June 2019 against Czechia, Hungary & Latvia.

>> read more

Lyceum Alpinum

Zuoz International Cricket Festival (Mon, 10 Jun 2019)

The 2019 International Cricket Festival will take place in Zuoz on Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd June 2019.

>> read more

Berne Cricket Club

Peter MacLaverty Memorial Trophy Match (Sun, 09 Jun 2019)

Berne host Cossonay on Sunday 30th June for a match that will be dedicated to the memory of Peter Maclaverty, a founder of both Berne CC and Swiss cricket.

>> read more

Cossonay Cricket Club

30 years of cricket in Cossonay (Wed, 05 Jun 2019)

June will be a momentous occasion in the history of Cossonay Cricket Club,  it will be the 30th anniversary of the founding of the club.

>> read more


Cricket Switzerland

Swiss U13 Surrey Tour Preview (Thu, 30 May 2019)

The Swiss U13 national side will be once again visiti Surrey, England over the Ascension long weekend (Thursday 30th May - Sunday 2nd June 2019).

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Luxembourg U13 Tournament Report (Fri, 24 May 2019)

A team from the Swiss U13 squad was invited to Luxembourg to two T20s on Saturday and a 35 over match on the Sunday. Switzerland U13s won all three matches!

>> read more

Aargau CC cricket mat set on fire (Tue, 21 May 2019)

On Friday evening unknown perpetrators set fire to the cricket mat stored at the club house of the Kreuzzelg sports complex in Wettingen, reported the Aargauer Zeitung.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

TransferWise Affiliate Program (Sun, 19 May 2019)

Cricket Switzerland has become an affiliate of TransferWise, an online money transfer company.

>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

Introduction to Umpiring course (Sat, 18 May 2019)

On Saturday 1st June 2019, swissFOCUS will run the third Introduction to Umpiring course of the year.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Cricket Switzerland Development Plan (Fri, 17 May 2019)

The Cricket Switzerland Development Plan was adopted by the Council at its meeting on Saturday 23rd February 2019.

>> read more

AGC

Village Cricketers Family Sixes Fun Day (Thu, 16 May 2019)

The Village Cricket Family Sixes Fun Day takes place on Saturday 10th August 2019 from 1pm at Grendelmatte Sportfeld in Riehen.

>> read more

Warsaw Hussars Cricket Club

Invitation to 7-a-side Natives Cup (Wed, 15 May 2019)

The Chairman of the Warsaw Hussars Cricket Club has invited a Swiss side to participate in the 5th Annual Natives Cup (Warsaw, Poland - 27th & 28th July 2019).

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Swiss U13 Triangular (Tue, 14 May 2019)

The Swiss U13 squad will travel to Luxembourg for an outdoor competition at the Optimists Cricket Club, a welcome opportunity ahead of their tour to Surrey.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Swiss Olympic Forum report (Fri, 09 May 2019)

Cricket Switzerland attended this year's Swiss Olympic Forum (8 & 9.5.2019) held at the Congress Centre in Interlaken.

>> read more

Mr Pickwick Pubs

Season start hampered by the cold & the wet (Sat, 4 May 2019)
The start of the PT20 & CSPL is being hampered by the current cold & wet Weather conditions.

                        >> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Swiss U11 & U13 training weekend (Thu, 02 May 2019)

Basel saw fourteen Swiss U11 and fourteen Swiss U13 squad members descend for a training weekend before their various tours and tournaments over the summer.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket

Basel Dragons U15 Junior Indoors report (Sun, 01 May 2019)

The weekend of the Saturday 6th & Sunday 7th April saw the last of the Basel Indoor Tournaments, this one at U15 Level.

>> read more


AGC

Geneva T20 Cup report (Tue, 30 Apr 2019)

The Geneva T20 Cup 2019 proved to be a thrilling edition with Geneva SL CC winning the event for the first time.

>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

Spirit Of Cricket award 2018 (Mon, 29 Apr 2019)

At the swissFOCUS AGM held in Zurich on Saturday 27th April 2019, the 2018 Spirit Of Cricket Award was bestowed upon Zurich Lions Cricket Club.

>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

sFOCUS AGM report (Sun, 28 Apr 2019)

In a change at the helm, Alexander Mackay was elected Chairman at the 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Swiss Federation of Cricket Umpires & Scorers (swissFOCUS).

>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

Introduction to Cricket Umpiring course report (Fri, 25 Apr 2019)

On Saturday 13th April 2019, the Swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers ran the second of two Introduction to Umpiring courses of the year.

>> read more

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Where to watch the Cricket World Cup in Switzerland? (Mon, 22 Apr 2019)

We attempted to compile a list of places where you can watch the forthcoming 2019 Cricket World Cup with your friends and families

>> read more

AGC

Geneva T20 Cup 2019 (Thu, 18 Apr 2019)

The 2019 Geneva T20 Cup takes place at Evaux & Bout-du-Monde on 27th & 28th April.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

DBMT cancelled (Sat, 12 Apr 2019)

The 2019 David Barmes Memorial Trophy on Sunday 14th April at Gründenmoss has been cancelled due to bad weather.

>> read more

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The Cricket World Cup (Fri, 11 Apr 2019)

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 takes place between 30th May and 15th July. Need to know more?

>> read more

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

World Cup volunteer - part 1 (Sat 06 Apr 2019)

Prafull Shikare lives and works in Switzerland and was accepted as a 2019 Cricket World Cup volunteer. Prafull has agreed to share his experience & his journey with us.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket

Basel Dragons U13 Junior Indoors report (Fri, 05 Apr 2019)

On 30th & 31st March 2019, Basel hosted the U13 Basel indoor tournament, where teams from Switzerland &  from Luxembourg competed for the prestigious trophy.

>> read more


Swiss Mr Pickwick Twenty20 League

Logo competition (Sun, 31 Mar 2019)

Design a new logo for the Mr Pickwick Twenty20 league and win Fr 100.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland Premier League

Selectors annouce squad to face St Gallen (Sat, 30 Mar 2019)

The selectors announce the Swiss squad to face St Gallen in the David Barmes Memorial Trophy Match (DBMT) due to take place at Gründenmoos on Sunday 14th April.

>> read more

Cossonay Cricket Club

Cossonay Curry Night (Fri, 29 Mar 2019)
The CCC Curry Night 2019 takes place on Saturday 6th April 2019 , starting 7.30pm! CCC hope to see all members and supporters in numbers.
>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

Introduction to Cricket Umpiring course report (Tue, 26 Mar 2019)

On Sunday 24th March 2019, the Swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers ran the first Introduction to Umpiring course of the year.

>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

swissFOCUS AGM (Mon, 18 Mar 2019)

The Annual General Meeting of the Swiss Federation of Cricket Umpires & Scorers (swissFOCUS) will take place in Zurich on Saturday 27th April 2019.

>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

Introduction to Umpiring course (Wed, 06 Mar 2019)

On Sunday 24th March 2019, swissFOCUS will run the first Introduction to Umpiring course of the year.

>> read more

T20 International

Basel Junior Summer Cricket Camp (Sat, 09 Mar 2019)

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket Club, in conjunction with Twenty20 International will run the annual Junior Basel Summer Cricket Camp (U8-U15) from 15th - 19th July 2019.

>> read more

Aargau Cricket Club

Introducing Aargau Cricket Club (Fri, 08 Mar 2019)

At the AGM in February, Aargau became members of Cricket Switzerland.  Who are Aargau Cricket Club, cricketswitzerland.ch went to find out?

>> read more

swiss Federation Of Cricket Umpires & Scorers

Introduction to Umpiring course (Wed, 06 Mar 2019)

On Saturday 13th April 2019, swissFOCUS will run a further Introduction to Umpiring course

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Swiss U15 match report (Tue, 05 Mar 2019)

The available under 15 (U15) Swiss players convened for a full day of cricket matches on Sunday 24th February, at the Pfaffenholz indoor sports hall in Basel.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

DBMT preview (Mon, 04 Mar 2019)

The 2019 cricket season will officially open on Sunday 14th April with the traditional David Barmes Memorial Trophy, this year to be hosted by St Gallen Cricket Club.

>> read more


CNN Money

Season warms up with a tournament on ice (Thu, 28 Feb 2019)

Switzerland’s cricket season kicks off on April 1, but for fans in need of a warm-up there was plenty of action in February as St. Moritz Cricket.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

AGM report (Sun, 24 Feb 2019)

Cricket Switzerland's Annual General Meeting took place as scheduled on Saturday 23rd February 2019 at the Restaurant Egghölzli in the Swiss capital of Berne.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket

Cricket on Ice report (Tue, 19 Feb 2019)

Another successful & highly enjoyable three days of Cricket on Ice in St Moritz pass, with some great individual moments of brilliance on the frozen lake and in the sunshine.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket

Player transfers (Mon, 18 Feb 2019)

Player transfering from one club to another must submit a form to the Cricket Switzerland League Chairman. Confirmed transfers for the 2019 season are listed here.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket

Basel Dragons U11 Junior Indoors report (Thu, 07 Feb 2019)

Zurich Cricket won the Basel U11 indoors at Pfaffenholz (2-3 Feb 2019) winning with three balls to spare in the last over.

>> read more


Cricket Switzerland

Junior cricket pitch length (Thu, 31 Jan 2019)

Changes in the 2019 MCC Laws have acknowledged the requirement for differing pitch lengths in junior cricket but have stopped short of defining these in the Laws.

>> read more

Cricket Switzerland

Cricket in England - post Switzerland (Sun, 27 Jan 2019)

Swiss Cricket set an excellent foundation for the Harper kids and having moved back to England their cricket has gone from strength to strength.

>> read more

Basel Dragons Junior Cricket

Basel Dragons Junior Indoors (Sat, 26 Jan 2019)

Basel Dragons Juniors Cricket Club have announced the dates for their annual indoor series for U11s, U13s and U15s in February, March & April 2019.

>> read more

Mediterranean Cricket Leage

Mediterranean Cricket League (Sun, 20 Jan 2019)

Swiss teams are invited to participate in the 2019 Mediterranean Cricket League in Tučepi, Croatia, 23th-26th May 2019.

>> read more

Transylvania Cricket Leage

Transylvania Cricket League (Sat, 15 Dec 2018)

The 2nd Transylvania Cricket League will take place in Bucharest between 4–7 July 2019 .

>> read more

Twenty20 Cricket Company

Vienna Cricket Club Winter Cup 2019 (Mon, 24 Sep 2018)
Swiss clubs are invited to participate in the 33rd VCC Winter Cup, an exciting weekend of indoor cricket (23 & 24.2.2019).

>> read more

Berne Cricket Club

Berne CC Curry Evening (Fri, 07 Dec 2018)

This year's Berne CC Curry Evening will take place in Köniz on Saturday 16th February 2019.

>> read more

Cricket On Ice - St Moritz

Cricket On Ice 2019 (Tue, 04 Dec 2018)

The 30th Cricket On Ice will take place on the frozen lake in St Moritz from Thursday 14th to Saturday 16th February 2019.

>> read more

Mr Pickwick Twenty20

Annual General Meeting (Sun, 18 Nov 2018)

The Cricket Switzerland 2019 Annual General Meeting has been confirmed for Saturday 23rd February 2019, in Berne, commencing at 1.30pm.

>> read more

Mr Pickwick Twenty20

Annual website & social media statistics (Thu, 03 Jan 2019)

Read Cricket Switzerland's website & social statistics for the year gone.

>> read more

Mr Pickwick Twenty20

Happy New Year (Tue, 01 Jan 2019)

Wishing all our website visitors, eNewsletter subscribers and social media friends a very happy & successful 2019.

>> read more

<< read an article from the 2018 News Archive