CSPL Final preview

Sunday 7th October, 2018 - Gründenmoos/SG

2018 CSPL Final

On Sunday 7th October the 2018 Cricket Switzerland Premier League (CSPL) final will take place at Stadion Gründenmoos in St Gallen.

St Gallen Cricket Club and Cricket Switzerland present the premier Swiss competition in the form of a 40 over final to be broadcasted live on Youtube with live scores on cricHQ.

Commentary & the razmataz will be provided by SS Sound Siva. Lunches will be served for players, teams & guests and drinks are available for sale all day.


The finalists were decided at the two respective semi-final matches played on Sunday 23rd September: Power struggled to match the fire power of St Gallen who won easily at Deutweg in Winterthur, but by contrast, Olten beat Nomads by just one run in a dramatic encounter at Buchholz in Uster.

Match programme

St Gallen versus Olten - CSPL Final programme (07 October 2018)
Time Activity
10.30am Ground open & pitch inspection by umpires
10.40am Toss
11.00am 1st innings
1.50pm Lunch (Lunch will be taken between innings)
2.30pm 2nd innings
5.20pm Stumps
5.30pm CSPL awards & presentations
6pm Ground closes


Spectators are advised to use public transport as parking is limited. This is a 'No-Smoking' venue.

Google Maps content is not displayed due to your current cookie settings. Click on the cookie policy (functional) to agree to the Google Maps cookie policy and view the content. You can find out more about this in the Google Maps privacy policy.

Introducing the 2018 CSPL Finalists

Olten Cricket Club

Olten CC cricHQ link

Over the years Olten CC have become one of the cricketing powerhouses of Switzerland, consistently qualifying for the knock out phases of all the official competitions and winning the tittles. After a thrilling one run victory over the defending champions in the semifinals, Olten CC are all set for the big finals where they will appear for the third year in a row and will be hoping change in fortunes this year. Known for their fiery fast bowling combination and formidable spin bowling options, they have consistently created problems for every team that played against them and none of the teams really managed to get a big score against them throughout the season. Once again big things are expected from their bowling group and it will be very interesting as to how they do against the aggressive St Gallen batting.
The bowling is well supported by enterprising batting and often spectacular fielding. With loads of experience of being in the knock out stages of the competition for many years, Olten CC will be a serious contender for the title this season and on their day, it will be difficult to stop them.

If you are a supporter of Olten CC, come and support your team in the finals starting at 11 am at Stadion Grundenmoos.

Olten CC team List:

Olten Cricket Club
Olten Cricket Club

1. Murali Gnanasegaram*
2. Muhammad SAW+
3. Shane Charles
4. Yaso Thirunakrasa
5. Shathees Thanasegaram
6. Tharanitharan Thanabalasingam
7. Diyon Johnson
8. Jeyakanth Perumal
9. Varothayan Pratheepraj
10. Raja Munawaar
11. Gowreesan Navaratnaraja
12. Raja Jacob
13. Sriniketh Srinivasan
14. Sheeraz Sufiyan
15. Ali Nayyer
16. Gulshavan
17. Roshanth
Note: Teams are subject to change

St Gallen Cricket Club

St Gallen CC cricHQ link

A big question in the mind of the Swiss cricket community is whether St Gallen CC can do the double this year? After winning the Pickwick Cup T20 Championship they are full of confidence, especially with the added advantage of playing the finals at their home ground. They are indeed strong contenders for the CSPL title this year. St Gallen qualified by virtue of a convincing victory over arch rivals Power CC. Well known for their aggressive batting they will be hoping to sustain the temperament to deal with a strong Olten CC bowling attack and score big runs. The batting will once again depend on the consistent Mahmood brothers who will look to finish the season with a bang. The bowling attack of St Gallen is considered one of the best in the country with the pace and variety they possess in their armoury. They will be hoping that their fast bowling line up with once again do the job and help them win their first ever CSPL trophy.
With outstanding bowling attacks in bothe teams, the batting will prove crucial and the team manages to overcome the batting nerves on the day will come out as winner.

If you are a supporter of St Gallen CC, come and support your team in the CSPL finals starting at 11 am at Stadion Grundemoos. 

St Gallen CC team list:

St Gallen CC
St Gallen CC

1. Osama Mahmood
2. Asad Mahmood
3. Ram Kasle
4. Mohammed Waqar
5. Nasir Mahmood*
6. Musa Ahmadzai
7. Haroon Abdul Halim
8. Naseem Mohammed
9. Ali Abbas
10. Vivek Garg
11. Kenardo Fletcher
12. Nithurasan Nithyarajah
13. Falak Sher
14. Sasikumar Saravanamurthy
15. Bajwa



Note: Teams are subject to change

More information

Cricket Switzerland

For further information about the 2018 CSPL Final please contact either Asvin Lakkaraju or Farid Din.