David Barmes Memorial Trophy report

Power Cricket Club 192ao (27 overs) lost to Swiss Representative XI 196-9 (39.5 overs) by 1 wkt


Winterthur, Saturday 16th April 2016

Nomads Cricket Club

The Swiss Representative XI emerged victors against 2015 CSPL champions, Power Cricket Club, in an exciting contest that went to the last over to win by 1 wicket in the official season opener, the David Barmes Memorial Trophy,  on Saturday 16th April 2016 in Winterthur.

Asvin Lakkaraju won the toss and put the CSPL champions in to bat on a fast drying pitch.

After posting an aggressive first innings total of 192, it was left to debutantes Aidan Andrews and Anser Mahmood to take the Swiss side over the line, Anser scoring a six off the penultimate ball of the innings to claim victory by the slimmest of margins and earn himself the Man of the Match accolade.

The teams

David Barmes Memorial Trophy Match
  Power Cricket Club                      Swiss Representative XI                       
1. Asad Mahmood 1.  Matthew Martin (CERN)
2. Sajid Safiat 2.  Asvin Lakkaraju (Zurich Nomads)
3. Osama Mahmood 3.  Anamdeep Singh Sidhu (GXI Stars)
4. Afzaal Sikander 4.  Praful Shikare (WCC)
5. Aamir Butt 5.  Jagath Banneheka (WCC)
6. Tariq Shehzad 6. Ruan Kruger (ZCCC)
7. Ashfaq Ahmed 7. Nic Henderson (ZCCC)
8. Zahid Rehmat 8. Idrees Haque (Uprising)
9. Shahnawaz Mohamad 9. Anser Mehmood (GCC)
10. Rana Mubarik* 10. Aseem Dhawan (Berne)
11. Ahsan Javaid 11. Aidan Andrews (GRYCC)
12. Sharjeel 12. Waqas Khawaja (Zurich Nomads)
Coach:   Coach: Chris Lodge
Umpires:  A.Koshy & A.Mackay
Scorers:  Club scorers
2016 DBMT Program (v 1.0-20160416).pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 637.4 KB

Dr. David Barmes

The late Dr. David Barmes of Geneva C.C. was the first President of the National Association and in honour of his memory Cricket Switzerland has established a tradition that the winners of the league championship play a 40 over cricket match against the Swiss national team to mark the beginning of the season and for the prestige of winning the David Barmes Memorial Trophy.

More information

Further information on this fixture is available direct from the National Team coach Chris Lodge.