Power win Pickwick Twenty20 final

Nomads 107ao (19.0 overs) lost to Power 112-2 (12.5 overs) by 8 wkts

Deutweg, Winterthur - Sunday 11th October 2015, 12 noon

match scorecard

On Sunday 11th October 2015, Power Cricket Club beat Nomads by 8 wickets in a one-sided affair at Sportpark Deutweg in the 2015 final of Mr Pickwick Twenty20 Competition to become Switzerland's new Twenty20 champions and add the Pickwick Trophy to their 2015 collection.

© Cricket Switzerland
Power CC winners of the Swiss Mr Pickwick Twenty20 Trophy 2015

With the ground having been prepared by Winterthur Cricket Club, Power captain, Mubarik, won the toss and elected to put Nomads into bat. Perhaps swayed by the promise of some mid-afternoon sunshine, on what was otherwise a cold & grey afternoon, or perhaps confident that they could chase down the most ambitious of targets.

© Cricket Switzerland
Nomads' opener Faheem Nazir (23)

At exactly 12 noon it was Mubarik himself that got the Pickwick final underway, with Shahnawaz bowling from the other end. Neither had any luck in their first spells, but neither had the Nomads openers Faheem or Asvin found the middle of the bat. By the end of the 5th over Nomads had scored 29, albeit without loss, averaging just over 5 an over. Respectable but not excessive.

Quick paced Osama Mahmood came on as first change and immediately struck dismissing Faheem (23) to a simple catch (44-1) taken by his captain. At the other end Afzaal bowled one off the seam (49-2) to the second Nomads opener Asvin Lakkaraju (24), turning enough to beat the bat and take the off stump. Afzaal struck again in the 10th over with a similar ball (60-3), this time dismissing Azeem Nazir for 1.

© Cricket Switzerland
Nomads' Shafqat Hussain run out for 13 in the 13th over

The Nomads 4 & 5,  Kannan (6) and Shafqat (13) looked as if they had the better of the bowling, particularly after Sajid (4-0-21-2) was hit for 13 off his first over (73-3). But he returned in the 13th over, an over that was to prove decisive.

And that number 13 was to crop up a few more times in this hgame.

Some indecision left the two batsman stranded in the middle of the pitch providing Hassan with the easist of run-outs, Shafqat dismissed in the 13th over for 13. The 13th over turned out to be a turning point in the match. Sajid took two further wickets (79-6) in this over, Kannan (6) & Kamrin (0) both caught, to mark the start of the demise of the first innings.   

Wickets then fail at regular intervals, the Nomads tail added 30 more runs to the Nomads innings in 7 overs, coming to an end in 19.0 overs exactly at 107ao, setting Power a required run-rate of 5.35.

After a well earned cup of chai, the umpires lead the team out for the second innings, Power confident that they could win the final.

© Cricket Switzerland
Hassan Ahmed (Power CC) scored 18 off 3 balls

And win it they did, scoring at double the required run-rate at the time of the first wicket (58-1) in the 6th over. Other than the Nomads slow bowler Kamran (4-0-31-1) who bowled Ash (38), and spinner, Schaukut (3.5-0-32-1), who bowled both the Power opener, Osama (27) -  incidentally Osama was awarded man of the match by having contributed with the bat & ball - there was no joy for the Nomads bowlers. When the second wicket fell (90-2) in the 11th over the game had almost concluded.

Hassan (28), hit three consecutive sixes off Shafqat in Powers 13th over to secure an 8 wicket victory.   

© Cricket Switzerland
58-1, Ashfaq (38) bowled by Nomads' Kamran

And so it was that, on this day in October 2015, Power beat Nomads for the fourth time this season.

Having met previously in the preliminary rounds of the CSPL Eastern League & Swiss Mr Pickwick TwentyT20 Trophy, and a fortnight ago in the CSPL final, Power won again in the Swiss Mr. Pickwick Twenty20 Cricket Cup competition final, to be hailed as the undisputed Swiss Champions 2015.

Message of appreciation

After the game Cricket Switzerland President Alexander Mackay thanked the small crowd that had braved the cold wind to the end to witness Power winning the most exciting Pickwick competition to date. He also thanked Jon Southworth from the Mr Pickwick Pubs, the officials, Winterthur Cricket Club (for hosting the final) and the teams and individuals that had made the final possible.

He then presented Power captain, Mubarik, win the winning trophy.

© Cricket Switzerland
Mubaraq Ali Rana receives the Swiss Mr Pickwick Twenty20 Trophy from Alex Mackay

More information

View more photos from the 2015 Swiss Mr Pickwick Twenty20 final, compliments of Nigel Atkinson, in the 2015 gallery.

For enquiries about the Swiss Mr Pickwick Twenty20 competition, contact Asvin Lakkaraju.

2015 SCA PT20 Final Program (v 1.2-20151
Adobe Acrobat Document 740.0 KB