Power CSPL champions 2015

Nomads 155 (34.5 overs) lost to Power 159-4 (24.0 overs) by 6 wkts

Deutweg, Winterthur - Sunday 27th September 2015


Power won the CSPL final on Sunday 27th September to become 2015 CSPL 40 over league champions for the second time in seven years after a 6 wicket victory against last year's winners Nomads.

Power captain Mubarik won the toss on a sunny autumn day in Winterthur, but one in which a strong cold breeze swirled across the field from the east. He had no hesitation to put Nomad's into bat, confident that the big hitters in his side could chase down any total.

Power veteran Shahnawaz opened the bowling alongside, Osama who celebrated his 20th birthday.

Shahnawaz's first ball to Asvin Lakkaraju was wild and wide, but his second pitched fast and turned on the seam to find the edge before finishing in Hassan's gloves. Nomad's put their heads down and were scoring at just under five over, partly thanks to a high-scoring 10 runs off Osama's second over.

Not surprisingly that marked the end of Osama's first spell, Afzaal Sikander's line and length preferred to Osama's fast & furious deliveries. The change paid immediate dividends, with two wickets in Afzaal's first over, Nomads 26-3 off 5 overs.

Shahnawaz had a wicket dropped in the seventh, but this wasn't a sign of Nomad's luck changing. Afzaal bowled a wicket maiden over in his his third. After Shahnawaz also bowled a maiden and with Nomads seemingl stuck on 32. he was rewarded with a rest, allowing Osama back into the attack. He immediately emulated Afzaal's wick maiden, Nomads now 35-6 after 13 overs. Could this game be over by drinks? Afterall, the spectators had witnessed more Nomads wickets in one afternoon than they had witnessed all season! No chance. That isn't the Nomads way of doing things.

After they lost their seventh wicket on exactly 50 runs, Faheem and Shaukut put on a bit of a recovery, batting for 17 overs and taking Nomads score to 129 before Faheem eventually fell to a catch in Sajid's 4th over. The tail hung on in for another 4 overs, Nomads dismissed in 34.5 overs haveing set Power a target of 156 to win the game.    

Despite lunch being held up in transit to the ground, the 2nd inngs started just 10 minutes later than scheduled.

Like the first innings the second began with a wide. And the first wicket fell early to a caught behind. But that is where the similarities ended. Despite Farid taking two early wickets, Power (22-2) settled well, playing defensively and picking out the bad ball. Power were scoring at 6 an over, well above the required 4.

They lost their third wicket on 83-3 off 15 overs but continued to score well, the pressure building on the Nomads bowlers and in the field as Power neared the total. Asad was superbly caught on the boundary (134-4), but by then the game was all but over. Hassan earned MoM with an unbeaten 53, while it was Sajid that scored the winning runs with a drive for four runs into cow-corner when the scores were level.

Power secured their second CSPL title in seven years with a six wicket victory over defending champions Nomads on the last ball of the 24th over.  

View more photos from the 2015 CSPL Final in the 2015 gallery.

Fall of wickets
Nomads   01   24