Swiss national team selection for Austria

Swiss Cricket Association

On behalf of the selection committee of the Swiss Cricket association, Swiss Cricket is pleased to announce the teams for the three International Twenty20 matches against Austria that will take place at En Marche in Coosonay, during their tour to Switzerland on Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd June 2013.

Ali Saleem bowling against Austria at Seebarn in 2012
Ali Saleem bowling against Austria at Seebarn in 2012

As we are in the process of building up a team for the long term so it was good to see a lot of
players staking a claim for a place in the team which is a real good sign for the future of Swiss Cricket. While selecting the team, preference was given to players who have made themselves available for the UK trip, and, who have been performing consistently in the domestic tournaments. 

As these will be our home games and International cricket is coming to us after a long break at the senior level so we are also trying to give a chance to players who are not part of the UK team but made themselves available for selection for the matches subsequently.

The Selctrion Committee wants to reiterate that as places are limited (only 11 player can play), so we have tried to accommodate as many players as possible and will ensure that the players of the UK bound team get at least two games each to keep them in good stead for the tour.

We also hope that in future more players will make themselves available for International matches well in advance, to help us put up the best team possible for these matches.

 GAME 1    GAME 2   GAME 3  

 Saturday 22nd June  

  Saturday 22nd June    Sunday 23rd June   


  3.30pm    11am   
 #  Name   # Name   # Name  
1 Afzaal Sikandar (c)   1 Afzaal Sikandar (c)   1 Afzaal Sikandar (c)  
2 Asvin Lakkaraju  (vc)   2 Asvin Lakkaraju (vc)   2 Asvin Lakkaraju (vc)  
3 Ali Neyyer   3 Ali Neyyer   3 Ali Saleem  
4 Ali Saleem   4 Ali Saleem   4 Amandeep Singh  
5 Faheem Nazir   5 Amandeep Singh   5 Kuldeep Rawat  
6 Kuldeep Rawat   6 Faheem Nazir   6 Nasir Mahmood  
7 Nasir Mahmood   7 Kuldeep Rawat   7 Ovais Yousaf  
8 Ovais Yousaf   8 Nasir Mahmood   8 Simon Henderson  
9 Simon Henderson   9 Ovais Yousaf   9 Sajid Safiat Ullah  
10 Sajid Safiat Ullah   10 Sajid Safiat Ullah   10 Shahnawaz Mohammad  
11 Shahnawaz Mohammad   11 Sudath Jayaratne   11 Sudath Jayaratne  
12 Sudath Jayaratne   12 Shahnawaz Mohammad        
      13 Aneesh        
      14 Malik        
Swiss squad & officials in Seebarn, Austria in 2012
Swiss squad & officials in Seebarn, Austria in 2012

We are also pleased to announce that Afzaal Sikandar of Power WCC will captain the side against the Austrian national team, and Asvin Lakkaraju of Geneva XI Stars CC will be his deputy.

We are also announcing a selection committee for the tour comprising of the captain, Vice-captain and one senior player, namely Sajid Safiat Ullah.


This committee will discuss and select the final 11 players for each match and will also be responsible for preparing match strategies etc..


Abraham Koshy

(Chairman, SCA Selection Committee)